Governance, Standing Committees, Affinity Groups and Special Programs

Board Members

For the current academic year (July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024)

LLAIC is a collaborative organization that is run by a Board of Directors composed of LLAIC members that are elected by membership.

Please consider joining the Board and contributing your time to keep our organization thriving. A nominating committee meets each spring to choose candidates for election. Contact if you’re interested.

Board of Directors

July 2023 – June 2024 Officers and Members

Shelly LevinePresident
Don BermontVice President of Administration
Bill MiniscalcoVice President of Operations
Mary MansfieldSecretary; Curriculum Committee; Chair, Summersession
Joel ShwimerTreasurer
Richard MansfieldCo-Chair, Curriculum Committee
Maryann WynerChair, Membership
Margalit LaiChair, Let's Go
Sandy GrasfieldChair, Outreach
Alice FreedmanChair, Special Programs
Alex ConnBoard member at large
Sue GoldbergBoard member at large
Jerry JacobsBoard member at large

To contact a Board Officer or Member, please send a note to

Standing Committees, Affinity Groups and Special Programs

LLAIC’s strengths are in its volunteers. Committees, affinity groups and special programs are currently led by those shown below. Any time is a good time to jump in and help shape this exciting collaborative venture. Is there a particular group to which you would like to contribute? Be creative! There’s always room for another affinity group or special program. Email us and let us know.

Standing CommitteesTeam Leadership
CurriculumLois Novotny, Richard Mansfield
Let's GoMargalit Lai
MembershipMaryann Wyner
OperationsBill Miniscalco

Affinity GroupsLeader
French Conversation GroupBetty Salzberg
La Tertulia Spanish ConversationMiriam Grodberg, Larry Krakauer
Lit Lovers (Book club)Joan Chasan, Sandy Grasfield, Barbara Barry
Movie MavensIleen & Alex Conn
Current EventsJerry Jacobs
No Geniuses on Wall StreetRichard Lewis

Special ProgramsLeader
LILAC PlayersMaryann Wyner & Rosalie Weiss
LLAIC Loves ArtElaine Paster & Joe Bongiardina
WintersessionPhyllis Cohen
SummersessionMary Mansfield